Posted by: John | October 12, 2006

Top 10 Movies

All movie sites have some kind list of their all time favorite movies. I never tried to do that myself, because I would have to remember all the movies I’ve seen in my life and compare them. That would have been an impossible task.

However I came up with a different list: top 10 movies off the top of your head. Basically I sat down and started typing titles of movies that I really love, without thinking too much about it. Here’s the result, in no particular order:

  • Fight Club: I watched this film 10 times, and everytime I get something new. The plot is great, Ed Norton is my favorite modern actor, Fincher is one of my favorite young directors, I love the narration.
  • Godfather & II: ok I cheated, these are two movies, but they’re from the same filmmakers. Truly classic movies of the 70’s.
  • The Usual Suspects: the best twist ending I’ve ever seen on movies, next to Fight Club. A great ensemble cast, Singer is another favorite young director of mine.
  • Requiem for a Dream: again, by a young director (Aronofsky). This is the most gut wrenching movie I’ve seen. It just punches you in the stomach, and makes you glad that you are not the people depicted in the movie. Very emotional movie about addictions.
  • Mulholland Drive: funny, misterious, dramatic, puzzling. Lynch’s masterpiece in my opinion, because it actually makes sense.
  • Goodfellas: Scorsese’s output has been almost constantly good for more than 30 years. This movie is my favorite of his. Until I rewatch Taxi Driver or Raging Bull…
  • Memento: the most original screenplay I’ve ever seen. Great directing by Nolan and acting by Pierce, complement this genius idea of showing this story backwards.
  • Chasing Amy: the best Kevin Smith movie, personal, funny, dramatic. It is all about relationships, both friendship and romantic. Did I mention it is funny? When I get to the end I almost tear up.
  • Seven Samurai: heard of Akira Kurosawa for years, and I finally got to see this movie. Expectations were high, but they were blown away. A true masterpiece.
  • Vertigo: the perfect Hitchcock movie, great plot twist, great characterization, great acting. What more can I say about this classic from the master of suspence?

That was interesting, and it didn’t take me long. So what is YOUR list?


Responses

  1. […] contains posters from some of the movies I nominated as my Top 10 in this post. Unfortunately not all 10 fit, but I will change this header in the future. For now I am happy […]


Leave a comment

Categories