Posted by: John | September 10, 2007

A Good Year

A Good Year (2006): A British investment broker inherits his uncle’s chateau and vineyard in Provence, where he spent much of his childhood. He discovers a new laid-back lifestyle as he tries to renovate the estate to be sold.

I was interested to watch this film based on Russell Crowe and Ridley Scott. Unfortunately I was sorely disappointed.

I can appreciate the basic story of an English business man rediscovering his childhood and a more relaxed life style in France, but I think the execution falls flat.

The comedic scenes were not funny. They just felt forced and not essential to the story. Scott hasn’t done a lot of comedies, but he was successful in Matchstick Men. This time it just didn’t work.

The love story felt unrealistic, since they basically had one date and they were madly in love. I don’t count the time they spent in the past, since he hardly remembered it.

The selling of the property also didn’t feel well developed, I thought there were holes here and there. I did enjoy the flashback scenes, they had a nostalgic feel to them.

This just felt like a mish-mash of many different ideas, that didn’t gel well together. A forgettable movie.

Rating: 2 Stars


Leave a comment

Categories