Posted by: John | September 28, 2007

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002): Harry ignores warnings not to return to Hogwarts, only to find the school plagued by a series of mysterious attacks and a strange voice haunting him.

This second installment in the HP series is a slight improvement over the first one. The cast and crew are all the same, so on that aspect not a lot has changed.

The main actors give more or less the same type of performance, as well as the adult actors. The new cast member is Kenneth Branagh as Lockhart, at times a fun performance, but ultimately I find the character too much of a stereotype, too simplistic (which is a problem I have with much of the books).

Visually I really liked Moaning Myrtle, she looked somehow more defined than the other ghosts. The big monster at the end was a slight let down. It looked too CGI to me, so I didn’t enjoy that part. Which is a shame since it was the climax of the story. But I did like the mystery, but that’s due to Rowling.

Again, this movie is very similar to the first one, so I don’t have much else to say about it. I still didn’t find it passable, but we’re getting there.

Rating: 2.5 Stars


Leave a comment

Categories