Posted by: John | December 5, 2007

Heroes: Season 2

10mThis second season of Heroes was a slight disappointment. First of all they skipped a few months and didn’t tell us what happened after last season’s finale. I didn’t appreciate that at all, I had already waited so many months for the new season, and now I had to wait even more to learn what happened.

The main problem was that there wasn’t a unified story line or a focus to this season. Whereas it was fun to discover the connections between the different characters last season, this season we already knew them and their stories just didn’t cross much, if at all.

Also many of these stories just weren’t compelling. I didn’t like Hiro’s adventures in the past, they never shocked me or surprised me at all. Also the fact that he can now travel through time and space as he pleases is going to ruin it to me. He’s just too powerful and can do anything he wants in order to change the past or the future.

Micah’s story was just boring, including his cousin’s story, which after a while was just forgotten. Plus her power is useless. This is definitely the weakest story line.

Even Sylar’s story was boring. Him and the twins, I just didn’t like that at all. Peter is always fun to me, but memory loss has been used so many times, I just didn’t find it interesting at all. His character basically hasn’t evolved at all, so I find that whole Irish story a total waste.

Claire’s story is again uninteresting, she’s still the one that does impulsive things, does not think about them at all and does not trust anybody. Even after what her father did for her, she still doesn’t trust him. I did like the episode where her father is shot. I liked how the cliffhanger of that episode recalled Clair’s first episode’s cliffhanger.

I like Kristen Bell from Veronica Mars, so I was just happy to see her in this show. However her character does not work for me, she is looking for acknowledgement from her father, but we don’t know enough about her to understand that. Her power is certainly a cool addition to Peter’s arsenal.

The most interesting story is the one involving the company and the killing of the first generation. First we finally find who the boogey man is (I sort of liked that, a surprise). Then we find out who is the real killer (this ties into Hiro’s story, which is what I always liked about Heroes). This also ties into what Peter saw in the future, and they collide into the finale.

Even in season 1 there were high and low in quality, but this time the lows were lower, and there were fewer and lower highs. The highlights include the episode where we finally learn what happened after last season’s finale. The episode where Clair’s father gets shot. The finale at least gave us some closure to some of the story lines, but it was not as good as I was hoping for.

At least it gives us hope for something better to come. I don’t know when we’ll see more episodes, but I hope they are better than this.

Season Rating: 2 Stars


Leave a comment

Categories