Posted by: John | December 20, 2007

Gilmore Girls: Season 5

ggdvd5I felt a lot of things happened in this season. I certainly felt the most emotional.

My dislike for Rory hasn’t changed, she made a huge mistake with Dean, and in the end it didn’t work out. I knew it, because they tried already. Their breakup was a bit sudden though.

And then she goes and mixes up with Logan. Now I don’t dislike Logan, even though he’s more similar to Jesse, but this season it felt like Rory made all the wrong decisions. She might be intelligent and a good girl, but she is too weak and easily influenced. I really hate her situation at the end.

On the other hand Lorelai has had her best year. She finally got together with Luke, which I still can’t believe. I said I thought they’d be friends forever, but I was wrong. However at the beginning of this season I still thought they wouldn’t work out, it felt too perfect.

Then of course Emily reaches her lowest and causes the biggest drama of the series. At that moment I really hated her. I always disliked her, but this time she crossed the line. She doesn’t care about her daughter at all, she doesn’t even want a good man for her, she just wants a man with a good heritage. WHAT@?#@? I was so pissed off!! Which indicates good writing/acting.

Luckily things got better, and I loved when Lorelai told Emily to just "shut up!!". However they reconciled too easily in my opinion, I would have held the grudge for a very long time.

Onto Lane, my favorite character. She really has grown into a pretty girl, and she even has another new boyfriend. I was disappointed that Dave wasn’t even mentioned anymore. Not even a brief comment about their break up. He worked so well with Lane, I don’t really like Zack and Lane, though their first date was very funny.

The separation between Emily and Richard shook up things a little, which is always good. No matter what their situation is, I never like Emily, I always feel bad for what they do to Lorelai.

Sookie’s role has been the same as last year, with her being pregnant again. She’s still a good supporting role, but nothing new happens to her anymore.

The finale was annoying regarding Rory, but I got very emotional at the end. Could it be? I still can’t believe it, but I don’t think I’d like anything else to happen to Lorelai. She’s been through so much, she deserves to be happy.

This season has been the best so far, plenty of drama and happiness.

Season Rating: 3.5 Stars


Leave a comment

Categories